Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Prize Winning Fiction
Prize Winning Fiction

Children's Prize Winning Fiction

Carnegie Medal Winners

The Carnegie Medal is a British literary award that annually recognizes one outstanding new book for children or young adults. (It is the equivalent to America's Newbery Medal.)

The 2013 winner was Sally Gardner's Maggot Moon


To view all previous winners click here

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize or Guardian Award is a literary award that annually recognises one fiction book written for children or young adults (at least age seven) and published in the United Kingdom. It is conferred upon the author of the book by The Guardian newspaper, which established it in 1965 and inaugurated it in 1967. It is a lifetime award in that previous winners are not eligible.


The 2013 winner was Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead


The 2012 winner was The Unforgotten Coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce


To view all previous winners click here

The Blue Peter Book Awards

Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000. The Blue Peter Book Awards 2014 will celebrate children's books published in the last year in two categories: the Best Story and the Best Book with Facts.


The 2013 winners:


Best Story: - Tom Gates Genius Ideas (Mostly) by Liz Pichon

Best Book with Facts: House of Horrors (Horrible Science) by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles


To view all previous winners click here

2016 Pulitzer Prize Winner

It's a massive day in arts and journalism because the 100th annual Pulitzer Prize winners were just announced, and there's a big surprise. 2015's best artistic and nonfiction writing across 21 categories were recognized during a ceremony Monday afternoon at Columbia University in New York City. The first Pulitzer Prize was awarded to Hebert Bayward Swope, a reporter for The New York World, in 1916. (And if you're as big a fan of Newsies as I am, that paper should ring a bell, but try to think of it more positively.)

The major prize for book nerds, the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction went to The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove Press), a legitimate surprise, if you've been paying attention to the book nerd and industry buzz. The feeling around the prize in the last few months would have you putting all your hard-earned cash down on A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara to take home the award, but that's why you should never gamble. Viet Thanh Nguyen is no less deserving, and moreover, it's his debut novel, which makes it such a wonderful win.

Extract from New York Times to view full article...

Click here


Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Prize Winning Fiction