Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Prize Winning Fiction
Prize Winning Fiction

Carnegie Medal Winners

The Carnegie Medal is a British literary award that annually recognizes one outstanding new book for children or young adults. (It is the equivalent to America's Newbery Medal.)


The Medal is named after the Scottish-born American philanthropist Andrew Carnegie (1835–1919), who founded more than 2800 libraries in the English-speaking world, including at least one in more than half of British library authorities. It was established in 1935 by the British Library Association (LA or LAUK) partly to celebrate the centennial of Carnegie's birth and inaugurated in 1937 by the award to Arthur Ransome for Pigeon Post.

2013 Sally Gardner Maggot Moon
2012 Patrick Ness A Monster Calls
2011 Patrick Ness Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking)
2010 Neil Gaiman The Graveyard Book
2009 Siobhan Dowd Bog Child
2008 Philip Reeve Here Lies Arthur
2007 Meg Rosoff Just in Case
2006 The award date is the year of publication before 2006, the year of presentation after 2006.
2005 Mal Peet Tamar
2004 Frank Cottrell Boyce


2003 Jennifer Donnelly A Gathering Light
2002 Sharon Creech Ruby Holler
2001 Terry Pratchett The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents)
2000 Beverley Naidoo The Other Side of Truth
1999 Aidan Chambers Postcards from No Man's Land
1998 David Almond Skellig
1997 Tim Bowler River Boy
1996 Melvin Burgess Junk (Puffin Teenage Fiction)
1995 Philip Pullman Northern Lights (His Dark Materials)
1994 Theresa Breslin Whispers in the Graveyard
1993 Robert Swindells Stone Cold (Puffin Teenage Fiction)
1992 Anne Fine Flour Babies
1991 Berlie Doherty Dear Nobody
1990 Gillian Cross Wolf
1989 Anne Fine Goggle-eyes
1988 Geraldine McCaughrean A Pack of Lies
1987 Susan Price Ghost Drum
1986 Berlie Doherty Granny Was a Buffer Girl
1985 Kevin Crossley-Holland Storm: Red Banana (Banana Books)
1984 Margaret Mahy The Changeover
1983 Jan Mark Handles
1982 Margaret Mahy The Haunting
1981 Robert Westall Scarecrows
1980 Peter Dickinson City of Gold and Other Stories from the Old Testament
1979 Peter Dickinson Tulku
1978 David Rees The Exeter Blitz
1977 Gene Kemp The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler
1976 Jan Mark Thunder and Lightnings
1975 Robert Westall The Machine Gunners
1974 Mollie Hunter The Stronghold
1973 Penelope Lively The Ghost of Thomas Kempe
1972 Richard Adams Watership Down
1971 Ivan Southall Josh
1970 Leon Garfield and Edward Blishen God Beneath The Sea
1969 K. M. Peyton The Edge of the Cloud
1968 Rosemary Harris The Moon in the Cloud
1967 Alan Garner The Owl Service
1966 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
1965 Philip Turner The Grange at High Force
1964 Sheena Porter Nordy Bank
1963 Hester Burton Time of Trial
1962 Pauline Clarke The Twelve and the Genii
1961 Lucy M. Boston A Stranger at Green Knowe
1960 Ian Wolfram Cornwall The Making Of Man
1959 Rosemary Sutcliff The Lantern Bearers (Eagle of the Ninth)
1958 Philippa Pearce Tom's Midnight Garden
1957 William Mayne A Grass Rope
1956 C. S. Lewis The Last Battle (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 7)
1955 Eleanor Farjeon The Little Bookroom
1954 Ronald Welch Knight Crusader
1953 Edward Osmond A Valley Grows Up
1952 Mary Norton The Borrowers
1951 Cynthia Harnett The Wool-pack
1950 Elfrida Vipont The Lark on the Wing
1949 Agnes Allen Story of Your Home
1948 Richard Armstrong Sea Change
1947 Walter de la Mare Collected Stories for Children
1946 Elizabeth Goudge The Little White Horse
1945 — Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
1944 Eric Linklater The Wind on the Moon
1943 — Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
1942 BB (D. J. Watkins-Pitchford) The Little Grey Men
1941 Mary Treadgold We Couldn't Leave Dinah (Puffin Books)
1940 Kitty Barne Visitors From London
1939 Eleanor Doorly The Radium Woman
1938 Noel Streatfeild The Circus is Coming
1937 Eve Garnett The Family from One End Street
1936 Arthur Ransome Pigeon Post

2016 Pulitzer Prize Winner

It's a massive day in arts and journalism because the 100th annual Pulitzer Prize winners were just announced, and there's a big surprise. 2015's best artistic and nonfiction writing across 21 categories were recognized during a ceremony Monday afternoon at Columbia University in New York City. The first Pulitzer Prize was awarded to Hebert Bayward Swope, a reporter for The New York World, in 1916. (And if you're as big a fan of Newsies as I am, that paper should ring a bell, but try to think of it more positively.)

The major prize for book nerds, the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction went to The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove Press), a legitimate surprise, if you've been paying attention to the book nerd and industry buzz. The feeling around the prize in the last few months would have you putting all your hard-earned cash down on A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara to take home the award, but that's why you should never gamble. Viet Thanh Nguyen is no less deserving, and moreover, it's his debut novel, which makes it such a wonderful win.

Extract from New York Times to view full article...

Click here


Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Prize Winning Fiction