Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Prize Winning Fiction
Prize Winning Fiction

The Blue Peter Book Awards

The Blue Peter Book Awards are a set of literary awards for children's books conferred by the BBC television programme Blue Peter. They were inaugurated in 2000 for books published in 1999.

2013   Best Story: Genius Ideas (Mostly) (Tom Gates) by Liz Pichon

2013   Best Book with Facts: House of Horrors (Horrible Science) by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles

2012   The Considine Curse by Gareth P Jones

2011   Dead Man's Cove by Lauren St John

2010   Frozen in Time by Ali Sparkes

2009   Shadow Forest by Matt Haig

2008   Prize didn't run

2007   The Outlaw Varjak Paw by S. F. Said

2006   Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers

2005   Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo

2004   Man on the Moon by Simon Bartram

2003   Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve

2002   Feather Boy by Nicky Singer

2001   The Wind Singer by William Nicholson

2000  A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) by Geraldine McCaughrean

2016 Pulitzer Prize Winner

It's a massive day in arts and journalism because the 100th annual Pulitzer Prize winners were just announced, and there's a big surprise. 2015's best artistic and nonfiction writing across 21 categories were recognized during a ceremony Monday afternoon at Columbia University in New York City. The first Pulitzer Prize was awarded to Hebert Bayward Swope, a reporter for The New York World, in 1916. (And if you're as big a fan of Newsies as I am, that paper should ring a bell, but try to think of it more positively.)

The major prize for book nerds, the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction went to The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove Press), a legitimate surprise, if you've been paying attention to the book nerd and industry buzz. The feeling around the prize in the last few months would have you putting all your hard-earned cash down on A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara to take home the award, but that's why you should never gamble. Viet Thanh Nguyen is no less deserving, and moreover, it's his debut novel, which makes it such a wonderful win.

Extract from New York Times to view full article...

Click here


Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Prize Winning Fiction