Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Book reviews, Pullitzer, Booker, Costa and Children's Book reviews
Prize Winning Fiction
Prize Winning Fiction

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize

The only children's book award judged by children's authors, it has been running since 1967. It is awarded annually to fiction written for children aged eight and above.

2012 Frank Cottrell Boyce The Unforgotten Coat
2011 Andy Mulligan Return to Ribblestrop
2010 Michelle Paver Ghost Hunter 6
2009 Mal Peet Exposure
2008 Patrick Ness The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking)
2007 Jenny Valentine Finding Violet Park
2006 Philip Reeve A Darkling Plain
2005 Kate Thompson The New Policeman
2004 Meg Rosoff How I Live Now
2003 Mark Haddon The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
2002 Sonya Hartnett Thursday's Child
2001 Kevin Crossley-Holland The Seeing Stone
2000 Jacqueline Wilson The Illustrated Mum
1999 Susan Price The Sterkarm Handshake
1998 Henrietta Branford Fire, Bed and Bone
1997 Melvin Burgess Junk
1996 Philip Pullman Northern Lights
1996 Alison Prince The Sherwood Hero (PB)
1995 Lesley Howarth Maphead
1994 Sylvia Waugh The Mennyms
1993 William Mayne Low Tide
1992 Rachel Anderson Paper Faces
1992 Hilary McKay The Exiles
1991 Robert Westall The Kingdom by the Sea
1990 Anne Fine Goggle-eyes
1989 Geraldine McCaughrean    A Pack of Lies
1988 Ruth Thomas The Runaways
1987 James Aldridge The True Story of Spit Macphee
1986 Ann Pilling Henry's Leg
1985 Ted Hughes What is the Truth?
1984 Dick King-Smith The Sheep-pig (US title, Babe, the Gallant Pig)
1983 Anita Desai The Village by the Sea
1982 Michelle Magorian Goodnight Mister Tom
1981 Peter Carter The Sentinels
1980 Ann Schlee The Vandal
1979 Andrew Davies Conrad's War
1978 Diana Wynne Jones Charmed Life
1977 Peter Dickinson The Blue Hawk
1976 Nina Bawden The Peppermint Pig
1975 Winifred Cawley Gran at Coalgate
1974 Barbara Willard Iron Lily
1973 Richard Adams Watership Down
1972 Gillian Avery A Likely Lad
1971 John Christopher The Guardians
1970 K. M. Peyton The Flambards Trilogy
1969 Joan Aiken The Whispering Mountain
1968 Alan Garner The Owl Service
1967 Leon Garfield Devil-In-The-Fog

2016 Pulitzer Prize Winner

It's a massive day in arts and journalism because the 100th annual Pulitzer Prize winners were just announced, and there's a big surprise. 2015's best artistic and nonfiction writing across 21 categories were recognized during a ceremony Monday afternoon at Columbia University in New York City. The first Pulitzer Prize was awarded to Hebert Bayward Swope, a reporter for The New York World, in 1916. (And if you're as big a fan of Newsies as I am, that paper should ring a bell, but try to think of it more positively.)

The major prize for book nerds, the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction went to The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove Press), a legitimate surprise, if you've been paying attention to the book nerd and industry buzz. The feeling around the prize in the last few months would have you putting all your hard-earned cash down on A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara to take home the award, but that's why you should never gamble. Viet Thanh Nguyen is no less deserving, and moreover, it's his debut novel, which makes it such a wonderful win.

Extract from New York Times to view full article...

Click here


Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Prize Winning Fiction